© Copyright 1999 - 2010 All Rights Reserved

All rights to the contents of the site is under current law. Reproduction, publication and distribution, total or partial, of the material contained on this website (including, without limitation and without limitation, text, images, graphics) is expressly forbidden without authorization written.

For information on obtaining permission to reproduce the material published, send an e-mail address:

lamezia termelamezia_terme_eng.html
le castellale_castella_eng.htmlle_castella_eng.htmlshapeimage_8_link_0
capo colonnacapo_colonna_eng.html
vibo valentiavibo_valentia_eng.htmlvibo_valentia_eng.htmlshapeimage_12_link_0
reggio calabriareggio_calabria_eng.htmlreggio_calabria_eng.htmlshapeimage_13_link_0
isole eolieisole_eolie_eng.html

fiume lao

pietra delle fate

The territory of modern Calabria, formerly inhabited by Bruzi, was later occupied by the Greeks and finally by the Romans, who transformed the name Bruttium. The people of Calabri however, lived in the southern part of today Puglia, called Calabria. Then there was a curious move of the name. Already at the time of Charlemagne, around the ninth century, the ancient Bruzio called Calabria and this name has remained.

Calabria is the southernmost region of Italy. It 'a narrow peninsula connected to North America in the Basilicata and divided between two seas, the Tyrrhenian and Ionian seas. E 'separated from Sicily by the Strait of Messina, a minimum width of 3000 meters.

The surface of the region amounts to about one-twentieth of the Italian territory, or about 5%. The resident population is approximately 2 million people, or approximately 3.33% of the Italian population, but a large part of emigrated from Calabria, so today there are more Calabrian around the world than there are in all region.

Calabria is divided into five provinces: Catanzaro, Cosenza, Reggio Calabria, Crotone, Vibo Valentia. The regional capital is Catanzaro, Reggio Calabria but there is the seat of the regional council.

The landscape is divided among a variety of fascinating landscapes, in continuous conflict between the mountains and the sea. The measurements come down almost to the coast, leaving flat sections at the mouth of rivers. The rugged the terrain island countries and cities where the population is centered.

The territory of Calabria coincides with the last stretch of the mountain ranges that run throughout the Italian peninsula, namely the Apennines Calabro. It consists of a series of peaks separated from each other that often assume the appearance of plateaus. Can distinguish three main mass: The Pollino, Sila el'Aspromonte.

To the north, near the border with Basilicata Pollino rises over 2200 meters with the summit of Serra Dolcedorme.

A deep depression dug by fiue Crati, separates the Pollino dall'altopiano Sila, extended in the heart of Calabria, the region has its maximum width.

To the south another depression, Amato traveled by river, divides the Sila and the Serre massif, above the two seas far south of the peninsula.

How Join Calabriaarrivare_in_calabria.htmlarrivare_in_calabria_eng.htmlshapeimage_20_link_0
isole eolieisole_eolie_eng.htmlisole_eolie.htmlshapeimage_21_link_0

fiume lao

pietra delle fate